Mr. Thomson is an avid traveler and tech-geek. In leisure, he reads book and pens informative articles.

ETIAS Information – How Its Works, Requirements and Fee

In this article, we are going to discuss an EU security and verification system called ETIAS. This online system is developing for scanning travelers who do not need a visa to enter the Schengen zone.

ETIAS helps Europe to protect their Schengen borders more strongly from terrorism and immigration violation issues. In short, this approach will help both travelers and the European Travel Authorization to preserve time, get protection, and save money. 

What is ETIAS? – European Travel Information and Authorization System

ETIAS is known as European Travel Information and Authorization System. This system is erect to improve security risks and ease the traveling process for a visa waiver and European citizens. The authorization of visa-exempt country travelers via ETIAS is mandatory at the end of 2022.

It involves complete screening of the travelers before traveling to Europe/Schengen Area. After applying for ETIAS authorization, multiple verification checks will apply on the passenger profile and examine will the specific applicant is scaring for any Schengen area or not. This system also verifies applicant citizenship concerning visa waiver country, background details like criminal activities, and illegal immigration frauds.

European Travel Information and Authorization System is comparable to American ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization). Both systems identify the traveler’s status, which is from visa-exempt countries.

Please Note: This system only entertains the Non-EU citizens from the below-mentioned countries. Citizens from non-visa-free countries need to apply for a Schengen visa for traveling Schengen zone.


Which Countries Require ETIAS Authorization Before Traveling Europe/Schengen Zone?

Here is the list of all 60 countries those citizens need ETIAS verification before entering the Schengen Area of Europe.

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela


What Are The Countries Which Accept ETIAS Authorization for Entry?

The following list represents all countries for which visa-exempt foreigners need ETIAS Authorization for landing inside.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • France
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • San Marino
  • Estonia
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Liechtenstein
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
  • Vatican City
  • Andorra


Why ETIAS Verification Necessary Before Travelling to Europe?

As we already mentioned, this system makes sure that the traveler is not involved in any suspicious activities, does not threaten any Schengen area, and the applicant’s citizenship is eligible for ETIAS entry.

Besides protecting both travelers and European Travel Commission (ETC), they have the following ultimate benefits.

  • Save application processing time
  • Discard irregular migration
  • Enhance Europe borders control
  • Detecting traveler criminal and illegal activities
  • Strengthen EU traveling policies


What Are the Basic Requirements for ETIAS Authorization?

If you want to travel Schengen zone and belongs to above mention 60 visa-free countries, then you will apply for ETIAS Authorization with the following requirements. 

  • Valid passport with validity of 3 months from the date of arrival
  • Availability of Credit or Debit card for paying fee
  • Operational Email Address

Applicants bio details:

  • First & Last name of the applicant
  • Nickname
  • Date of birth
  • Place of birth
  • Country of birth
  • Gender
  • Nationality

European Travel Information and Authorization System will need some more additional information during the processing of your application.

  • Passport number
  • Issuance and termination date
  • Other passport details
  • Details of first destined Schengen country
  • Education & Work details

ETIAS Work Flow

Here are the processes which show the ETIAS workflow:

  1. Check visa-exempt country eligibility.
  2. Submit ETIAS online application.
  3. Pay €7 fee for ETIAS application via credit/debit card.
  4. Your application processing starts(Identity verification, verifying travel documents, and background answers/questions survey).
  5. Wait for an email response from the concern department.
  6. If the application is accepted, arrange your transport for traveling(Air, Land, and Sea).
  7. Cross the Schengen border after the final border officer verification.


What Is The Fee of ETIAS Authorization?

The application fee of the European Travel Information and Authorization System over 18 years is €7, and there is no fee for under 18 years applicant. You can pay this fee using your credit or debit card.

How Long is ETIAS Valid?

ETIAS is valid for up to 3 years and until your travel documents(passport and transport tickets) are not expired.

When Will ETIAS Start Working?

The official date announced by the European travel commission is January 1, 2022, but it might be fully operational at the end of 2022.hotel-booking-for-visa-application

Related Readings